Allergy to cow’s milk protein (APLV) happens when the baby’s immune system rejects milk proteins, causing severe symptoms such as red skin, strong vomiting, bloody stools and difficulty breathing.
In these cases, the baby should be fed with special milk formulas indicated by the pediatrician and that do not contain milk protein, in addition to avoiding the consumption of any food that contains milk in its composition.
How is feeding without cow’s milk
For babies who are allergic to milk and who are still breastfeeding, the mother also needs to stop consuming milk and products containing milk in the recipe, as the protein causing the allergy passes into breast milk, causing the baby’s symptoms.
In addition to breastfeeding care, babies up to 1 year old should also consume infant milk formulas that do not contain cow’s milk protein, such as Nan Soy, Pregomin, Aptamil, and Alfaré. After 1 year of age, the follow-up with the pediatrician must continue and the child may start to consume fortified soy milk or another type of milk indicated by the doctor.
It is also important to remember that at all ages you should avoid the consumption of milk and any product that contains milk in its composition, such as cheese, yogurt, cakes, pastries, pizzas, and white sauce. What to eat in milk allergy
How to differentiate normal colic from milk allergy
To differentiate between normal colic and milk allergy, one must observe the symptoms, as colic does not appear after all feedings and causes milder pain and discomfort than allergy.
In allergy, the symptoms are more severe and in addition to intestinal problems, they also include irritability, changes in the skin, vomiting, difficulty breathing, swelling in the lips and eyes, and irritability.
Foods and ingredients that should be removed from the diet
The table below shows the foods and ingredients of industrialized products that contain milk protein and should be removed from the diet.
|Prohibited Foods||Prohibited Ingredients (see on label)|
|Goat, sheep and buffalo milk and cheese||Lactose|
|Yogurt, curd, petit suisse||Lactoglobulina, lactoalbumina, lactoferrina|
|Milk drink||Butter fat, butter oil, butter ester|
|Milk cream||Anhydrous milk fat|
|Cream, rennet, sour cream||Lactate|
|butter||Soro do leite, Whey Protein|
|Margarine containing milk||Milk yeast|
|Ghee (clarified butter)||Initial culture of lactic acid fermented in milk or whey|
|Cottage cheese, cream cheese||Dairy compound, milk mixture|
|White sauce||Microparticulated milk whey protein|
|Dulce de leche, whipped cream, sweet creams, pudding||Diacetyl (usually used in beer or buttered popcorn)|
The ingredients listed in the right column, such as casein, caseinate, and lactose, should be checked on the list of ingredients on the label of processed foods.
In addition, products that contain dyes, aromas or a natural flavor of butter, margarine, milk, caramel, coconut cream, vanilla cream, and other milk derivatives may contain traces of milk. So, in these cases, you should call the SAC of the product manufacturer and confirm the presence of milk before offering the food to the child.